How to Be A Good Follower

www.extension.umn.edu/
http://www.extension.umn.edu/

One of the unique characteristics of being a part of The Ridge Church, or any church for that matter is the dual roles we all serve. At times we are called on to be leaders and other times, followers. In reality we all serve as followers of Jesus.

Ron Edmondson offers ways one can be a good follower. While his focus is on church staff, 9 of these are great insights for church members and leaders as well.

Help me lead better – Help me be a better leader in the areas where I may not have the access to information you do.

Do what you commit to do – If you aren’t going to complete a task, please let me know in plenty of time or offer to help find someone who can.

Don’t commit if you won’t put your heart into it – Good followers give their best effort towards completing the work assigned to them.

Pray for me – I don’t have all the answers. In fact, some days I have none.

Complete my shortcomings – The reason we are a team is because you have skills I lack.

Respect me – In public settings, even when you don’t agree with my decisions, honor me until you have a chance to challenge me privately.

Love the vision – Ask God to give you a burning desire to see the vision succeed.

Be prepared – When bringing an issue for a decision, do your homework – information.

Stay healthy – You can’t be as effective on the team if you are unhealthy. As much as it depends on you, remain a healthy follower.

We are all part of the team called The Ridge Church! May we all be good followers of Jesus as well .

Read full article by Ron Edmondson

Leave a Reply

