My Mom Is A Great Cook

feast-plateMy mom is a great cook. She creates the best meals. I really can’t tell you which one is my favorite. Although I can tell you, that when I go home for a visit she makes whatever I desire. That’s my mom!

For the benefit of my siblings, I say that the reason she cooks my favorite meals is because I’m special and she loves me, more!

Each Monday at Century Assisted our Bible Study group repeats the 23rd Psalm. As we repeated it this past week, I was reminded of a comment I recently read on verse 2, He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

You see sheep in biblical times were very special. In addition to their great value for milk, food, clothing, and tent covers, they were also used at times as a form of currency. Sheep were often a gauge of wealth and status.

Also, sheep are frightened by rushing water, and will often choose not to drink it. So the shepherd lovingly seeks out and provides what the sheep desires, still and slow moving streams to quench their thirst.

We know that God is the great shepherd and we are his sheep for whom he cares and provides.  He loves us and considers us special.

The Lord loves me and considers me as special as my mom does. I like that picture!

2 thoughts on “My Mom Is A Great Cook

Leave a Reply

