So, Why Do You Pray?

When it comes to prayer I am regularly confused.

I pray for things.  I pray about things. I pray for good things. I pray for other people. I am even unselfish in my prayers at times. However, I must confess often my prayers are not answered as I originally prayed.

Over time, I have come to realize that because we live in a fallen world that no matter how hard we pray, regardless of the level of faith, our good prayers with our unselfish intentions are not always going to become a reality.

NOW, that sounds kind of disappointing, if not downright depressing. Why then should I pray to God, if God is going to let me down at some point?

On the other hand, if everything I prayed about came to pass as my prayer directed then I would be able to corner the “prayer market” and make a comfortable living praying for people.  “Send in those prayer requests folks, along with your best financial gift.”

But still I am confronted with the question, why should I pray?

Well, first of all I believe the Bible. The scriptures clearly teach that we should pray. In fact, Philippians 2:6-7 says, “don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand.”

So I pray about those things in life that give me cause to worry. The list is long! The promise I get from God through the scripture is that even though my prayers may not be answered as I wish, I will experience a peace that cannot be explained.

The outcome may not be as I had hoped. I may be personally disappointed and saddened. However I don’t think there is anything more satisfying and redemptive than the experience of God’s peace that comes through faithful prayer.

So why do you pray?

 

 

 

 

 

 be blessed

 

 

2 thoughts on “So, Why Do You Pray?

  1. I pray to God because I love to be in his presence and to hear what he has to say. Prayer is a two way conversation, a dialogue. Prayer is worship of my covenant keeping God, who is present in my now. He is my Daddy God, who has much to say. Prayer is listening to the heart of God and what he has to say. It is casting all my cares on him because he cares for me. Prayer is giving my heart, mess and all to God. Prayer changes me from the inside out because I have basked in his presence. More of you Lord God and less of me!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I pray because, although it may not bring immediate change to the situation, it will change me – it changes my perspective and how I face the situation. I also receive God’s peace, and if I take the time to listen to him, I can get the wisdom I need to guide me. I can’t say there is just any one particular reason I pray – there are many reasons and I can say that I am always better off when I take the time to do so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

